TV Ad Remakes #2: Close-up’s “Closer You and I”


I apologize if I haven’t dropped by here for two weeks due to my other commitments. Here I am again, bringing you another ad remake post. :)

__________

To my friends who grew up on the same generation as me, ever thought that Kim Chiu and Gerald Anderson’s remarkable Close-up commercial was actually a REMAKE? The original version was way back on the late 80’s or early 90’s. According to my intensive research (again), the early Closer You and I commercial was starred by Raffy Ladao and Raya Roa.

The TV Ad: Close-up Toothpaste

What things were changed:

  • The concept of the commercial. The original version of the ad was shot at different locations (I think they focused more on the ‘nature’ side), while the 2009 version was shot at a Western-like high school.
  • The singer and genre of the song. The “Closer You and I” theme of the 80’s/90’s commercial was sung by Gino Padilla and was more like a ballad, while Sponge Cola made it a rock song this time.

__________

Close-up – Closer You and I – 80’s/90’s

Close-up – Closer You and I – 2009

__________

Now which ad do you find more appealing? The original ad or the 2009 version? :)

– Irish :)

P.S. There is a big possibility that I will finally be publishing the Coke global ad “Tomorrow’s People” next week. Trust me, it’s a looooong post loaded with different versions of the same ad, in consideration for those two weeks that I left you hanging! Stay tuned, guys! :)

One thought on “TV Ad Remakes #2: Close-up’s “Closer You and I”

  1. original the new one has no soul and sponge cola destroyed the song what a shame. musical wise appeal and good vibes 20-1 original trashes the new one.

Let's talk about this! :)

